Back to News

MHLW designates 7 substances for worker exposure reporting

MHLW has the following designated seven hazardous substances as subject to workplace exposure reporting in 2020:

  • asphalt
  • ethylene glycol mono-n-butyl ether
  • o-cresol
  • cyclohexanone
  • 1,1-dichloroethylene
  • furfural
  • methyl tert-butyl ether

If there is potential exposure and the quantity of the substances exceeds 500kg, companies manufacturing or handling the listed substances in 2019 are required to report to Head of Labour Standards Supervision Office between 1st January 2020 and 31st March 2020.

Reporting requirements can be viewed at

Yordas Group can support you at every stage towards successful notification in Asia Pacific, from providing up-to-date information and identifying your regulatory obligations, to substance characterisation, commissioning of testing, risk assessment and submission of notifications. We provide in-country representation through our network of local partners. For more information on how these latest regulatory updates may affect your business, call our expert team on +44 (0)1524 510278 or email

Related News

29 Substances added to the Highly Mutagenic Chemical Substances

METI consult on supplementing 150 substances to the reporting exemption list